Too much torque?

martyman.geo

Hi all again!  This post is about my 2015 DJ and a change of trans shifting that started occurring about 5 months ago. 

One note that probably has no bearing on the post or not...lol! is the updating of the remote start.  

I noticed that the car seemed to have more torque by the amount of front wheel spin occurring from standing start.  It almost seems like a rev limiter has been removed.  I know this isn’t the case but I have been driving my DJ for almost four years and the change is quite noticeable. 

Another noticeable item is getting on the freeway accelerating to speed, the revs now go a lot higher than before shifting if I stay on it. I had this same type of experience with a shift kit installed in a th400 trans in a Camaro I used to own.

Is this normal for an Awd? 

3.6 or 2.4?  By revs, I'm assuming that you mean RPMs.  What is a lot higher?  The limit is the redline at 6500ish RPMs for the 3.6.  It's not uncommon for the computer to allow RPMs to go to redline on my 2011 when I'm getting after it.  If it's going into the redline, that's  a problem.  I believe the AWD is actually FWD until a loss of traction is detected.   For all intents and purposes, its going to be FWD most of the time.  When you say torque,  are you referring to torque steer?  Camaros are RWD and torque steer is not a thing with those.  Torque steer is a characteristic of FWD vehicles at WOT.

Try the battery disconnect as jkeaton suggests.  If that doesn't help then take it in for a diagnosis.   These transmissions don't hold up to intense use.  If there is an RPM issue, you need to get it corrected.  My transmission failed at about 80K miles.  Had it replaced under lifetime warranty.   Good Luck. 

Peace. 

• 2 weeks later...

Thank you guys for your responses. It is a 3.6 with AWD.  I wish I still drove like I used to do.  I am that guy that stays at the speed limit on the freeways and streets. Very boring most of the time.