It’s dead

Joel

My 2014 SE died Saturday night. We were driving home and stopped at a light. When the light changed the car wouldn’t move, the engine started surging, then we heard crackling like an electrical arc so we turned it off and smoke started pouring out from under the hood. Now the engine compartment smells like burnt electrical parts. All lights work in the car but nothing else. I’m not an electrical expert so I have no idea where to start looking on this. Anyone have any suggestions?

The power distribution box and the other part circled smell burnt. 

3636FFFF-9939-4ECC-932F-D7EE1366DF0D.jpeg

OUCH!:spend:

Some big expenses to get this back up and running, that's the ECM(engine control module) and TIPM/fuse panel you've circled and both probably electrically burned out. No doubt that some electrical harnesses are damaged also. Good Luck on how you proceed, as this is more than a "shade tree mechanics" level work. Much less to figure out why this happened so it does not repeat itself. 

Yeah it is. If it was mechanical that would be different. I just am not very experience with the electrical systems of these newer vehicles. It may be more expensive to fix than I’m willing to put into it.

35 minutes ago, Joel said:

Yeah it is. If it was mechanical that would be different. I just am not very experience with the electrical systems of these newer vehicles. It may be more expensive to fix than I’m willing to put into it.

Sorry that such a big problem hit, and at a very poor time. Being pretty new here myself to the forum, I take it you've had some "issues" previously from looking up your profile. I also take it that this is a 2.4 FWD 2014 model? My sister has the same year and 2.4...nice car overall just says a bit underpowered for the many hill's in our area. SHE is envious of our '11 V6 AWD "mainstreet" after taking a ride in it.

Good Luck with repair or replacement to your's  :)

2 hours ago, 5rebel9 said: