What oil do you use?

I just got a 2012 Journey Crew with the 3.6l and I'm looking into what oil to use for the new vehicle. I know to stick with 5w-30, but was wondering if it's worth switching to synthetic. I believe the manual says you're good to go 8k miles between changes with regular old oil and a mopar filter. If I switch to synthetic, can I go a longer distance, or stick with the 8k miles? I do about 30k miles per year, so the longer I can go between oil changes, the better.

I've always used Mobile 1, so hopefully that's a good brand to put into Dodge engines? I'm new to dodge, so just wanted to check if there were better brands of oil to use on these engines? Thanks for the help!

• Official Dodge Support

I just got a 2012 Journey Crew with the 3.6l and I'm looking into what oil to use for the new vehicle. I know to stick with 5w-30, but was wondering if it's worth switching to synthetic. I believe the manual says you're good to go 8k miles between changes with regular old oil and a mopar filter. If I switch to synthetic, can I go a longer distance, or stick with the 8k miles? I do about 30k miles per year, so the longer I can go between oil changes, the better.

I've always used Mobile 1, so hopefully that's a good brand to put into Dodge engines? I'm new to dodge, so just wanted to check if there were better brands of oil to use on these engines? Thanks for the help!

One,

Congrats on the new vehicle. As far as oil changes go, I would not recommend going past the 8k even if you are using synthetic especially during the warranty period. I have a feeling that your oil change light will probably come on sooner than 8k though if you live in the desert.

If I switch to synthetic, can I go a longer distance, or stick with the 8k miles?

I don't mean to hijack the OP original thread and will start a new one if necessary. At the risk of starting a huge debate, I would like to hear pros and cons of using synthetic oil vs. regular oil.