Inline Modified Cutout Valve for Exhaust Silencer

I recently installed a set of aftermarket mufflers and deleted the resonator. The car sounds awesome (especially for a V6) but it can be really obnoxious sometimes. I ordered an exhaust cutout valve from QTP with a wireless controller and am planning to stick it inline with my exhaust to silence it as much as I want whenever I want/need to. I'm thinking I will want to put some holes in the valve plate to not completely restrict the flow, but I've never used a cutout before and have no idea how large to drill. Thoughts anyone?

Won't the exhaust cutout valve bypass your muffler system? That won't make it quiet, that's for sure. Maybe I misunderstood your question. Are you going to put the resonators back on and use the valve when you don't care about the noise? I'm a little unclear on what you will be doing...

The resonator is gone, and in its place at the moment I have clamped a piece of straight pipe. What I plan to do is put the valve in where the pipe is. It's wont be tee'd off to anywhere so the exhaust will still go through the mufflers.

I found the resonator made the exhaust high pitched and ricery with the mufflers I picked, but taking it off really opens up the noise level and gives the tone I want. I'm just adding an adjustable obstruction in the exhaust line to keep the same tone but adjust the volume.

Well the valve came in yesterday and it should be pretty easy to hook everything up so I'm going to go for it. I'm going to make a few different valve plates with varying hole sizes, and start with the largest and see if I can find the right balance between noise and performance.

MAP sells a universal damper valve with just a 9/16 hole in it, but that seems way to small to me. I'd be afraid to overtake anyone on the highway with that. If anyone's interested, here's the link.

http://www.maperformance.com/map-universal-3-inline-exhaust-damper.html