Need 2012 Journey R/T Impressions

lg68jcu

Hey All,

I am stuggling with the Sorta practical Charger R/T and the more practical Journey R/T. I am a more spirited driver (Last 3 cars Neon R/T, Mazda 6s & Pontiac G8). I want the Charger for its 13 second quarter mile but I have 3 small kids and the Journey keeps entering my mind. I want a sporty mid size cross over if I dont go the Charger route but want to stay domestic. I just dont find anything with 280+ HP besides the Ford Edge which is ubber expensive. If I go with a 5 seater it needs 58" plus hip room in the 2nd row for my 3 car seats which no car/suv has beside my G8 has. The Charger has 56.1 in the rear and it wont fit my seats until my middle child is in a booster which is next spring. With 3 kids under 5 the journey seems more practical.

I am wondering how sporty of a suspension etc. the Journey has. Am I able to drive it like I stole it? Push it hard in corners, Will it hold up to daily 0-40, 0-80 runs? I want a sports sedan but if it makes sense to go suv I need it to be sporty and able to withstand some abuse. Its mainly a DD for me but needds to be able to drive all 3 kids on occation. My car is a mainly a daily driver and I am usually by myself.

Just wondering what other R/T owners think about their Journey. What is the 0-60 time and quarter mile if anyone every took one to the track? Are there CAIs available? Anyone modify their exhaust?

Thanks Everyone

The journey is very practical indeed. Sporty?? Honestly I don't think so ( not with the 17"s anyway). The suspension is fine, smooth, but the steering is overly boosted. Feels loose, not a lot of road feedback.

The 0-60 runs are... Idk how to explain it.. Lots of torque, moves WITH authority, but doesn't have that jump you're prolly expecting with the pentastar. The tranny doesn't drop gears fast enough when you're merging on the hyway.

I say all of this because I also drive a 2011 grand caravan.