When you say side panel are you referring to the door panel? If so it an easy process...just a few screws and clips and it comes of easy. But I guess it depends on how handy you are.

Subwoofers require an amplifier. If your trying to add a sub without adding an amp it wont work. The OEM amp might have an output for a sub. You will need to check into that. It your trying to tap into the rear speaker wires to add a sub the amp wont be able to handle the ohm load drop and you will probably harm the amp. There are ways to use the OEM radio even with aftermarket amps. I would recommend going to your local Car Audio store and ask them how it can be done. This is one reason why I dont like the newer Journeys. All the electronics in the vehicle are operated through the OEM radio and adding an aftermarket system is more difficult for a DIY person. Everything else especially the 3.6 Pentastar motor is far better on the newer Journeys though.

Thank you so much for your quick reply. I'm new to all of this and I'm really racking my brain trying to figure it all out. Any recommendations at all how to put in some subs without tearing off the entire side panel.

I can certainly help you here (I install subs in all of my cars with the factory stereo), but I need to know which stereo you have.

@Lobitz68

I am not car stereo savvy at all. How would I know if my DJ has third row speaker wires? I have a 2011 R/T (US version). Can I check the build sheet or window sticker? I have the RB5 with satellite and Nav. I would be interested in mounting some speakers in the back if the wires are already there.

Nice to see a fellow connoisseur. I love my smoker and my mash tun! Nothing better than a rack of cherry smoked ribs with a pint of home brewed porter or IPA to wash it all down.

Peace.

@Lobitz68