Failing soon after Warranty is done

pal

I am interested in finding out how many people have had their transmission fail on them soon after warranty. I am a data analyst and I feel there is something 'wrong' in this equation. I for one plan to stop taking my car to the dealer way before the warranty is up. I have seen that this penominon (transmission fails soon after warranty goes) is not limited to one brand. Unless the transmission has a 'timer' in it like 'oh warranty is up lets fail', I wonder if there some 'other reason' for this. Any ideas or comments?

It does not matter what brand.

Warranties are intended to protect vehicle owners from premature failures; Engineers design the components to survive at least for the warranty period, though they tend to cut things awfully close. That's why I have been tyring to get people to sign up for the extended warranty group buy.

If they cut things that close people would not buy again IMO........GM ,Ford and others get well over 300,00- 500,00 KM from the factory tranny..............as well as many others .....Proper fuilds and filter maintenance is the key to tranny life...............Heat is the main killer of trannys.................I have 300,000 Km on my 2001 Pontiac Grand Prix I use for work and not tranny issues at all ....YET.......LOL...............Caper............

Edited by caperinmuskoka

• 3 weeks later...

I am interested in finding out how many people have had their transmission fail on them soon after warranty. I am a data analyst and I feel there is something 'wrong' in this equation. I for one plan to stop taking my car to the dealer way before the warranty is up. I have seen that this penominon (transmission fails soon after warranty goes) is not limited to one brand. Unless the transmission has a 'timer' in it like 'oh warranty is up lets fail', I wonder if there some 'other reason' for this. Any ideas or comments?

It does not matter what brand.