Problems filling up?

drozz

Here's an odd issue. I have a 2011 DJ Crew, and every single time i go to fill up, i can never get the tank filled up fully. It always cuts off when it thinks its full, but when i start up the journey, its never on the full line. I've found that when it stops filling, if i pull the nozzle out a little and continue to fill up slowly, it actually takes a lot mroe gas into the tank. Anyone else have this issue?

And to make it even funnier, this morning I filled up and the pump didn't shut off at all, i think a few $$$ worth of gas ended up on the ground lol.

I am not a mechanic but from personal experience i can answer this,

The auto shut off on the pump operates by sensing the back pressure causes by air being pushed out of the tank as it approaches full capacity. When you remove the pump and reinsert, you allow that pressure to disapates which then allows you to continue filling.

The sensitivity of this varies pump to pump and is not a problem with the Journey but is a function of the pump.

Here's an odd issue. I have a 2011 DJ Crew, and every single time i go to fill up, i can never get the tank filled up fully. It always cuts off when it thinks its full, but when i start up the journey, its never on the full line. I've found that when it stops filling, if i pull the nozzle out a little and continue to fill up slowly, it actually takes a lot mroe gas into the tank. Anyone else have this issue?

And to make it even funnier, this morning I filled up and the pump didn't shut off at all, i think a few $$$ worth of gas ended up on the ground lol.

Edited by Teambedlam

"And to make it even funnier, this morning I filled up and the pump didn't shut off at all, i think a few $$$ worth of gas ended up on the ground lol."

That is why you should usually stop at the auto shut off-so you have fill up a little sooner,

It's not an edurance contest.

The other reason not to over fill is that you can damage the recirc fuel system by