2015 Dodge Journey Crossroad

Nino292000

Hey everyone. I have a 15 crossroad. and at the current moment it has 153000 miles on it.  

Ive replaced the transmission already and solved the issue with the rear wiper and driver side window switch. on over all I am happy with my journey.  I am not a mechanic by profession but I have been working on cars for a long period of my life.  so all the work put in have been by my own hands. its not hard its more of common sense. look forward into interacting with you all.

Welcome to the site, great to have more strong diy guys on the car site.  I worked as a millwright mechanic for most of my working career, so car repairs became one of my hobbies in retirement.

My wife’s 2014 awd  still has the original tranny with 200k kilometres, and a few oil changes. Fingers crossed. They are a clunky shifting tranny most of the time, the 6 speed.

You mentioned wiper, is that the wire harness through the hatch wires breaking ?

Driver door window switch is just a swap out , correct. Has surfaced a few times here.

Anyway, welcome.

Thank you. The rear wiper, yes it’s the harness and same for the window switch. The fix is quite simple. Either replace the harness or solder it back in place. I think it’s easier to replace the harness. I solder mine back together and it took me longer doing it so. As for the tranny. I have the 4 speed. It’s been around since 1988. Dodge continues to use it today. 

Edited by Nino292000

The last four speed standing, more or less.  Sometimes simple is good.  Daughter in law has a 2012 journey 4 speed, with just over 60k miles in it, I have driven it a bit, seems to work fine. Could use more gears, but is actually less clunky than the 6 speed. 

Heat shrink and solder is time consuming, but a good permanent fix IMO.