Hello, I'm new to this. But I recently got my 2017 Journey back and I went to plug in my USB flashdrive with my music on it, but for some reason it won't read it. I tried a different flashdrive and it still wouldn't read. So I formatted the original one and replaced the music and it still didn't read. Then I checked to see if the USB still even worked by plugging my phone charger into it and it worked fine. Should I buy a new flashdrive?

It needs to be 32 gigs max, I think.  Fat32 format.  My advice if you want to use the usb port is to pick up an iPod.  They're cheap, they work well, and you're only limited by the size of the iPod.  You'll also have playlist functionality.  Good luck.  Search this site.  This has been discussed.   

Peace. 

It is a 15gb flashdrive. It worked just fine before and I'm not sure why it all of a sudden would have stopped. I wasn't sure what possible issues there could be. I already know I could buy an ipod but its Christmas season, I can't do that right now for myself.

The USB is not limited to 32GB, at least on the 8.4 system. The SD card is. The USB does have to be formatted in FAT32 and the music has to be in Mp3 format.

I have been successfully running a USB with 60GB. Trial and error taught me the limitation as far as formatting. One thing to note...I had recently plugged my USB directly into a router to access it from computers in the house. This is something that I have successfully done before but it did not work this time. Also, as a result, a small portion of the music will not read in my Dodge now. On inspection, the router had added files to the USB that were not there before. The flash drive is currently waiting to be reloaded before going back to the Dodge. I am updating my home music files first before updating the flash drive.

Edited by Summer Solstice

4 hours ago, Summer Solstice said: