First full year

B4ZINGA

As of Wednesday, 5/20/2014, it has been one full year since I switched from my beloved 2007 Charger R/T with 29R Road & Track sport package to my 2014 Journey R/T AWD with Rallye appearance package. I took delivery with 2,086 miles as the second owner (first in-service date was 3/20/2014). It currently has about 12,850 miles. It has had one oil change and one tire rotation, and otherwise has not been back to the dealer (for the moment).

My impression so far...

This has been an excellent vehicle. It has filled every single need I had that I bought it for and which my Charger had a very difficult time filling. I needed a wagon-type vehicle to drive my new retriever around in (he loves it, too), and I needed a vehicle with extra cargo volume to transport test samples between labs (I currently work as a validation engineer for a tier 1 supplier on interior components to most of the major automakers in the world, moving to product engineering in a week). The Journey does this flawlessly, while the Charger was only barely capable of doing it. I often had to drive with the rear seat folded down, which introduced a lot of exhaust drone, and I was constantly paranoid that my dogs hair and nails would destroy the suede backseat in spite of the seat cover I have. I hate having to make car payments for a longer length of time, but I like the lower cost of insurance.

Interestingly, my partner has a 2014 4-cyl FWD SXT Blacktop in Redline 2-coat Pearl, and we noticed my R/T handles the pockmarked roads around Detroit better than the B/T.