After market subwoofer install question

Hi there, I am new to this so bear with me.... I have an existing bob/12"/ and amp that I got installed into my 2011 Dodge Journey. Its the standard 3 cables... remote/ground/battery. Unfortunately, since the battery in this model is not easy to get to, Best buy (the ones who installed it) hook the battery feed up to the positive charging/boosting post, simply because it is easy to get to. Now my situation is, that the stereo worked fine for 4-5 months, then one day my truck would not start after sitting in the off position for ONLY 30 minutes... I took it in to Chrysler, they got it running, and 4 days later the exact same thing... this time they blamed it on a possible Slow drain from my after market amp... I don't understand how it took 4-5 months to slowly drain the battery to a non-startable situation...

Apparently, from what I hear the electrical system in the 2011 journey is COMPLETELY different than previous years...

I guess my question is - has anyone heard of this situation? or does anyone know where the + battery cable (with built in fuse) needs to go to...?

Help... I miss my base......lol

• Official Dodge Support