Fuel Economy

Journeyman425

That's great. I've been monitoring my 2011 for a few years now. Drive in the southwest. Lots of mountains and hills. I am averaging in the high 24's overall recently. That's approx 70/30 highway/town. I drive responsibly with some bursts of WOT; I like to be sure someone didn't steal my Pentastar. B) On the highway I get 27 - 28 mpg. Usually with a bike or surfboard on the roof.

Peace.

I use to get 26 or so average. But lately I've been getting only 23mpg. Same driving style, 80% highway, lots of mountains and strong head winds. I've tried different gas stations but its the same deal. I'm wondering if gas in southern California up'd the amount of ethanol? But there's no way to find out because the pumps don't say how much ethanol is in the gas.

I'm thinking my mileage went down ever since the dealer replaced the cylinder head for the TSB problem with cylinder #2...

On our family trip to Florida i was able to average 8L/100km (approx. 35MPG). That was carrying a family of four, full cargo of luggage and doing the speed limits with cruise control. I know I can get even better mileage as a lot of luggage brought was unnecessary so for next year I will be travelling lighter. I was quite happy with the fuel consumption.

I was quite surprised by that number also. I re-set the values when I filled the tank so it would record accurately for that specific trip. I figured 25-26 at best. We have been averaging 21.5 - 23.5 MPG each tank with a combination of around town and highway trips which I think is very respectable for a vehicle of this size and power. The engine really does not work hard at all on the highway - the tachometer reads around 1600 RPM at 70 MPH.