First Dodge Ever

PrinterWiz

Hello everyone! I just purchased my first dodge product in years, a 2014 Dodge Journey SXT Blacktop. I believe the last Chrysler product I owned was a 1989 Chrysler Lebaron turbo coupe, and before that two K cars, a Reliant wagon and a four door Lebaron.

In my distant past, I was a tune-up mechanic, and then a manager at a Midas franchise. I'm more than comfortable doing a lot of the basic maintenance and general repairs on my own vehicles. I've already had to put tools to my Dodge, and that's why I'm registering with the forum. I have the Hands Free System Loading Message and the Uconnect system is not working properly. I plan to start a thread to share my experience and seek advice.

How I ended up owning a Dodge Journey is quite an interesting story. I drive about 100 miles a day to and from work, mostly tollway. I carpool with a guy that lives by me so we trade off week to week. My tollway car was a 2001 Cadillac SLS that I bought on CL for $5k with 53k miles on it. Really clean, beautiful car, everything works. I ran it up to 75k with usual cadillac issues. Of course with all vintage Cadillacs it eventually needed major expensive work, to the tune of just about $2000. I didn't have it out of the shop a full week before some guy driving another cadillac t-boned me. He was at fault, admitted it, but unfortunately his insurance company is probably the worst I've ever had to deal with, and the car is totaled. The accident was on 11/19 and I'm still waiting for them to make me an offer, which won't be much anyway.