Normal trans temp ,oil ect

k.tron

Hello,

I have a 2015 Dodge Journey 8500 miles. A few weeks ago I was towing a trailer max weight was no more than 1600 lbs . Max tow weight is 2500 lbs. I noticed at my trans temp went up to 263 . The coolant temp gauge under the tac read one line before the H . The oil and coolant were between 245-255 . Pulling up a small hill. When the ground returned to level the temp went down 10 min later. Now on the same road this time not towing the trans temp went to 222. I am not a mechanic but I know this is to high. Any ideas why in a new car .

Thanks in advance

Yes a small mountain for 15 min then there's a 2 mile straight away and another 10 min of hill . But when we went up the same hill Friday my car not towing anything went to 222 . Most of the hill the rpm is between 2-3 a few times at 4 climbing then right back to 2-3. But for a car less than 6 months old. I had a Saturn uve that never got that hot climbing the same hill.

I would definitely have it checked. I drive truck for a living, and one of our Mack's had an issue of always running hot. The water temp would be 220, oil temp at 280, etc. it ended up being an issue with the computer not being calibrated correctly. It was giving thhe instrument cluster the wrong info. I'm wondering if it's possible with your car, especially with the coolant temp reaching one notch belie the red.

Edited by dj cowboy

My Nitro had a tow/haul switch. What it did, was not allow it to shift into OD, and changed the shift points. I believe that the top three gears (maybe 2) are OD in our DJs. So, when towing, try putting it in 5, and see if the temps do not rise. Then try 4, and see what you get. Of course, you mpgs are going to drop, but it may keep the temps where they are supposed to be.