First service for new (to me) Journey R/T

McBAIN

Hi,

Newbie here and new to dodge ownership. I moved to Toronto from Australia back in April and we bought a 2011 Journey R/T.

Time has come to book it in for a service and in the absence of people to ask I booked it in at the downtown Dodge dealer.

They have suggested a list of things to get changed which I suspect may contain some bogus elements, that said, it's the first service for me and i don't know how long it's been since some of these things were done so there is a peace of mind element to getting it looked over.

I'm after a few opinions, I understand how most things in a car work, but I'm far from a mechanic!

1. "Tune-up" $428 - includes replacing spark plugs which i'm told cost around $135 and plugging the ECU into a machine to check it out. why would i do this? i understand the plugs but is it more just about making sure everything is running properly?

2. Induction Service $199 - good to see this is an international dealer upsell... pass..

3. Front Struts & mounts for $705 + $109 for alignment. - i suspect after 80k this could be legit but the price seems high. i recall paying $1000 for struts & springs on my landcruiser in Aus. is this normal for Canada?

4. Apparently the Rear Toe Links are ceasing.. $559 to replace.

5. Replace all Fluids. Power Steering $109, Brake $105, Trans $225 & Coolant $125 - these could be fine but with no history i don't think it would hurt to change them.

The rear toe links are the main one I'm unsure about. seems a high price, ceasing vs ceased tells me I can leave this for a while but what happens when they cease? does it just make it hard to align the wheels or is there something more I'm missing?

Anyone else on here from the inner eastern side (beaches area) that is or knows a mechanic that could offer a second opinion/potentially better pricing?

Appreciate the help.

Welcome to the forum.

You don't say how many kilometers are on the DJ.