First vehicle purchase in Canada- seeking feedback on experience

Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie here. I am looking to purchase my first vehicle here in Canada (originally from the US). It's been many years since I've purchased a vehicle and, being new to the "Canadian way" wanted to get your feedback on how I was treated by this dealership please. I've never owned a Dodge before and Hubby has had 6 new Rams in the last 10 yrs. His experience has been great, so I thought I'd look into the purchase of a Journey. Where I live, pricing is so much better in the bigger towns, which is about 2 hrs away from me. I've been doing my shopping online and negotiating with the dealers before I drive 2 hrs to visually inspect the vehicle. So, I have in writing, and email between myself and a Dodge dealer, where I stated "I am comfortable offering x amount of money, pending authorization upon my visual inspection." The dealership wrote back "OK, great! When can you come in!" So, before I leave I send another email to confirm that we still agree on offer, pending inspection so I don't have to drive 2 hrs only to get a different story. Dealership responds and writes "please call me so I explain to you how this process works". I gave the dealer a chance to explain the process via email and this is what they wrote back (word for word) "I need a commitment to purchase before I can take an offer to my manager. You can do that in person like you said or you can do that over email."

Now, I reiterated that I was serious and would put down a deposit, etc so they had my commitment to my offer, pending inspection. Dealer wrote back and stated that they could not accept my offer!