which journey is the best to buy

Hey all,

I'm new here and we are looking to purchase a dodge journey but not sure which ones would be the best for us. looking at years 2011-2013. Im new to dodge and never owned one before. Def needing the 7 seater option for the kids but also needing to tow a horse float (trailer) for a 3/4 clydesdale so i need to be able to have alot of power and good torc (or however you spell it) as he is a heavy horse. Here in NZ there is about a $10k difference in price between the SXT and the RT but i cant see how they are really different. Any advice on the best year to buy and things to look out for when buying them would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers guys

The 2011 has the best tow rating, at 3500lbs. That's with the 3.6 v6. Not sure what engine sizes are avail over there.

2012 & 2013 have a lower tow rating at 2500$

I have been trying to look into why this is and I cant seem to find a good answer. I have been told by DODGECACARES that it has to do with engines overheating thus the decrease so I wouldnt push any DJ into the 3500lbs range to be safe. I dont really think any crossover type vehicles like the DJ carry high towing capacity ratings and have the third row....

thanks guys, Diesel (the horse) is about 800kg (sorry i don't know what that is in lbs) he would only be towed by himself no other horses. and i think a float is about 1000kg. I did see something about the change in towing capacity from the 2011 to the 2012-13 and would err on the side of caution if i did get a 2011. The towing would not be often maybe 10 times a year max. we were looking at the 3.6L V6 as we will need the power.

I'm not sure the Journey would be able to handle that big a load. The towing capacity is 2500 pounds max. How much weight are you talkng about?