4 things to quieten your noisy diesel engine

Max

Hi all,

I love my Journey but as many of you know the diesel engine noise is intrusive, so as an Engineer I decided to do something about it.

First of all I bought a medium size acoustic engine blanket from the link below for £85 including postage, & fitted it on top of the engine with a single releasable cable tie (you have to undo the cable tie to top up the oil so a standard tie will not do) This took 2 minutes to fit and reduced the engine noise by about 30% I would say. It cuts mainly the high frequency 'tappety' sounds so the engine no longer sounds like a tractor in my opinion, more like a throaty car engine. (I'll post some pictures of it fitted if you want)

http://www.noisekillergb.com/product_details.asp?ItemID=91

Second I examined the sound proofing and found some of it had moved out of position. If you prop the bonnet up and shine your torch behind the hinges into the wings, there are two purpose made sound absorbing wadding pads in the wings. The one in my drivers side wing had dropped about 5 inches and was clearly not doing its job. With one hand and a long screw driver I managed to push it back into place, it appears to be push fit only. Make sure the bonnet is securely propped because if the bonnet drops with your hand in the hinge it'll mangle your hand!!! I'm keeping a eye on this wadding and if it drops again i'll glue it next time. I think this queitens road noise more than engine noise.